Drawing first blood(plasma)

Yesterday I went and donated blood plasma for the first time. I was a little scared cause everybody had told me that they use huge needles and that I might get a haematoma. Also I already get a bit light headed when they draw just a little bit of my blood for testing. And no, it’s not cause I can’t see blood. :)

I had already been at the ward a month ago, but there is like a huge list of things that make you get excluded from donating blood. For example having been to Africa in the last 6 month. Oops. So I had to wait until enough time had passed and come back then. It’s not as simple as I had imagined… But now after I’d been tested for I think probably EVERYthing I was finally allowed to donate. And it wasn’t bad at all. The people were very experienced, (not the poke-your-arm-five-times-until-they-find-the-vein type), really friendly and obliging and I got some chocolate and the little heart you can see on the picture. It was also very interesting to see the machines filtering the plasma from the blood. And I don’t know why exactly, but just a nice, kinda different experience.

Oh and yes, the needles are a bit big ;)

Leave a Reply

